Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Linkert m74 idle control/throttle plate light leak

Good afternoon:

I am working on a 1948 FL for a customer. He brought the bike to me in multiple baskets, and I have been working to put it together for him. I have had it running and cannot control the idle on this M74 Linkert. I read a post from 2001 that discussed checking the throttle plate for light leaks if there was an idle control issue. The first attached photo is the throttle plate on this Linkert, and it certainly does leak light. I'm guessing that is the air leak but would like some help from someone who knows Linkert carburetors. Before this bike I have NO experience with Linkert carburetors.

20211025_140015.jpg20210616_160653.jpg20210616_124722.jpg
    If that is the probable source of the problem with this Linkert M74, is the fix as simple as a new plate or do I need to have someone who knows what they are doing rebuild this carburetor? My guess is that it would be prudent to send this to someone who rebuilds Linkert carburetors and have it done right. This bike needs to run, properly.

A second issue is oil leak. When I had the bike running, oil leaked from the rocker boxes and even from the rear exhaust lifter lower tube. I read in the Restoration Manual that the 1948s were very bad for oil leaks, to the extent that Harley changed the oil pumps to fix the issue. So, I am going to put the oil leak issue out as a separate string. Just mention it here because until I had the bike running, I did not know there WAS an oil leak! :-)
    ​​​​​​​
    Bob

That's certainly enough daylight to be an issue, Cap'n!

Since it is at both top and bottom, I would suspect an 'eyebrow' of wear into the body like this:
    WEARFIX.jpg

The remedy on the right is complicated, but frankly, there are many other things that can cause such grief, such as the manifold (which was unique for '48-'49).