1952 Indian Chief

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1952 Indian Chief

Hello. I'm looking at a 1952 Chief that the owner said had been on display the last 6 years in the American Police Motorcycle Museum in Meredith, New Hampshire. The owner claims it is a correct, matching numbers bike. I know its a long shot but I was wondering if anyone is familiar with it and could offer any insight about its history/originality. I'm not very good at judging a re stamp or aftermarket from original.

Thank You

If you post photos we can tell if factory stamped.
    Several Indians have appeared on ebay in the past two years with "matching numbers" not factory stamped

Comment

I'm going to get up on my soapbox here and declare matching numbers is over-rated. Now let me explain what I mean. Matching numbers have their place, It is a mark that the main components that left the factory remain together. Does this mean that is the engine and transmission is original and untouched by mortal hands. Probably not at this point.
      The truth is most of these bikes went thru a period when they were a cheap form of transportation for those who couldn't afford anything better. When something failed they did what they had to do to keep it on the road. Whether it was somebodies uncle who had a good motor out of a bike he wrecked or they did one the "dirty" repairs that we marvel at today. Few states titled them back then and even today there is no standard from one state to another. Some title the engine, some title the frame. Once you consider what many of these bikes went thru it's remarkable that there is as many around as there are. The only matching number bikes that really mean anything are the very few low mileage, 2 or 3 owner bikes that you can verify the provenance. IMO. Matching numbers is fine but it's not a deal killer for this rider.

Comment

Originally posted by Bills37 View Post