Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1955 FL Panhead: Why is my hand shift rod hitting the horn power pack?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1955 FL Panhead: Why is my hand shift rod hitting the horn power pack?

Ok, so I'm a newbie having a lot of fun with my vintage HD. Have ridden and wrenched on Norton, Triumph and Guzzi for years and understand these machines. The Harley is taking some getting used to.

The shifter rod in the photo is installed on the wrong side of the hand shift lever. But when it's installed on the outside of the lever, the rod hits the bottom of the horn power pack when shifting into 3rd.

Do you suppose the horn power pack should be moved further to the outside, to allow the rod to pass behind it when shifted to 3rd? Or, is the power pack bracket placing the horn power pack itself too low?

http://www.proxibid.com/asp/showImag... Davidson 55FL

Thanks for your ideas.
    Last edited by got_groove; 09-27-2010, 04:15 PM.
    AMCA# 14373
    "I pity the poor people who don't ride motorcycles" -Malcolm Smith, champion motorcycle racer.

What photo???
    Robbie
    Robbie Knight Amca #2736

Comment

I can't get the photos to work. So... hopefully the url above will work. Thanx
      AMCA# 14373
      "I pity the poor people who don't ride motorcycles" -Malcolm Smith, champion motorcycle racer.

Comment

Pic comes up fine for me. Cannot answer about your horn (have a 49 EL with frame mounted horn between front down tubes)but the shift rod assembly is intended to be mounted on the OUTSIDE of the the bottom of the shift lever and not the inside.

Here is the pic he is referring to...

Last edited by panz4ever; 09-27-2010, 09:23 PM.

Comment