X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Excelsior frozen in time

EDIT:
    Thanks for all replies and information.
    Status is that I have still not got the bike to my place. Will update with more picture when the bike is here.

Best regards

Stein-S

Hi.
    Seeking information about the bike at the attached photo. Owner have been storing the bike since the mid 60ˋs. Never started it. Has no idea about when previous owner had it running. If it was in the 20ˋs, 30ˋs, 40ˋs or 50ˋs. Probably unrestored. Supposed to be a 1919 model. I will try to make it run again this winter. Bike is not for sale, and I will work on it just because owner is an old friend, and that it is a fun project. Motor is stuck, but turned ok just a few years ago.
    i have no experience with Excelsior. Have been working only with Harley J before.
    The job I will do is just an easy one. Of course it is absolutely not going to be any repainting, or destroying of the originality. It shall look exactly as it does now. No new paint will touch any part of the bike. If motor has to be overhauled, it will not be me doing it. Will fill some kerosene in the cylinders, and with some time, patience and gentle approach with a wrench span at crank nut, I hope it will turn. And also hopes it will turn nice and free with no lugging where pistons have been stuck. If it comes loose, and seems fine, crank case will be flushed several times before adding new oil. Also many other things will be checked and tested before a possible teststart. Like valves movement etc….
    Still not have the bike here, so thought I could order tyres in front of getting hands on the bike, but could not even find/google information about tyre size….found that the board track racers had 2.5*28, but found no information about this original bike, that is safe enough for making me push the order button….so anyone?