Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• evening activities at Rhinebeck

Hello all,
    I am not a poster on this forum so much as a reader. I have been visiting Rhinebeck and other meets (Oley) for the last 3 years. It's always a great pleasure and in fact, i consider myself to be lucky living in the area where such meets are accessible. I enjoy any vintage machine - 2,3 or 4 wheels.
    Rhinebeck is a unique place as it combines so much and so many people from all walks of life.
    Few things i noticed though and wanted to share my thoughts with you all. I noticed that although during the day we are all there, shoulder to shoulder enjoying all that this place has to offer, soon as the sun is setting down the place is deserted and ... well... if you don't know many people, one may feel pretty isolated and without anything to do. Not much sense of comradory, not much to do - everyone retires to their tents and the place gets empty and quiet. I think it would be great if there was some sort a way to hang around, maybe have a cup of joe and watch a movie in a makeshift outside theater. A bunch of lawnchairs along with projector and a white screen along with a great movie is all that's needed. A few tables here and there (already available) and a few condements (coffee, tea, popcorn) can make the evening be interesting. Strangers can meet, talk and maybe become friends. I personally had been camping at the same spot for the last 3 years and so are my neighbors to the left and to the right of my tent. it took us 3 years to talk and swap emails, addresses etc. Given a chance to gather around, we could have done that way faster. Although the show is over each day by about 6, there are many of the campers that are actual members of AMCA who joined not to just look at bikes but to meet the like-minded people. What can we do for the evening activities to keep things alive and interesting?

Good thought, will do for Rhinebeck 2011.

Comment