Parkerizing and Cad Plating

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parkerizing and Cad Plating

I'd like to resurrect a subject that was brought up on another part of this forum. I was very interested in the discussions about parkerizing and "faux" cad plating and would like to get more info on both.

I looked into the Copy-Cad system Caswell sells and would like to know the pros and cons of this procedure. Looking at some of their forums, it looks like it gets a little complicated as far as having to figure out surface areas of the parts, proper voltage to apply, etc. I'm no electrician (or rocket scientist for that matter), and wondered if anyone could give me a "Fake Cad Plating for Dummies" rendition of how to go about this process. Also, is this system similar to the one Eastwood sells, and has anyone had experience with either/both enough to make a recommendation? And finally, what extra equipment would I have to buy to get going? It looks like the Caswell system requires a power supply and some way of regulating it?

As far as parkerizing goes, can anyone recommend a particular brand of parkerizing solution over another? It seems there are many brands out there, different colors, etc. What would be the proper finish for an old Harley? And it also seems that some are re-usable while others are not, anyone knowledgeable in this area? Maybe I should have titled this post "Restorations for Idiots"??

Mike