46 Chief quick new guy sumping question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 46 Chief quick new guy sumping question

I have read some posts on the Chiefs sumping oil down into the case after they sit for a long time. So, my question is, "IF" the engine sits and now has too much oil in it, will it even out after it runs for a bit and return to a normal level? OR will it always have too much oil in the case and never go to normal oil level.
    Jim

AMCA #6520

Jim, I only had mine wet sump one time so I'm by no means an expert, but it's my understanding that the pump will pull oil out of the sump ....at a very slow rate...until the level is at the pickup tube where it's supposed to be. I can guess it depends how much oil has drained into the sump because pulling those flywheels through a few inches of oil might not get you started, then there's the smoke!
    Pisten Bully is Harry Roberts in Vermont.

Comment

Howdy sir,