64' flh jockey shift

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 64' flh jockey shift

I'm new to restoring these old machines and have a question I have yet to receive a straight answer on. Currently I'm restoring my 64' FLH DuoGlide and have verified I have reproduction tanks. I have tracked down an original set of tanks that do not have the bracket for the shift gate. Before I make the purchase I need some clarification on whether I should have a jockey shift, and if so, should it be the police style using the ratchet top or a gate style on the tank. According to my Palmers book, the "H" denotes hand shift, but I'm told it could be either hand or foot shift. What models had what style shifter?

The "H" in the FLH prefix has nothing to do with hand or foot shifting. Some say the "H" means "HOT" as in cams. Chris Haynes would know.
    Eric Smith
    AMCA #886

Comment

I got caught up in the first part of your question. Hand shifting and foot shifting were options that were available in 1964. It's up to you if your building a bike from parts. In other words, if you're scaring up parts and want to go to hand shift, that is perfectly fine as long as you find the correct parts used in 1964. The motor is a stand alone unit and is not necessarily affected by chassis options. As for "police style" there is really no such thing. Some cops liked foot shift and some cops liked hand shift. I guess it depended on how much pull they had or what they were issued.
      Eric Smith
      AMCA #886

Comment

Boy O boy. Lesson time here.
        First of all a jockey Shift is a modified, custom shifter located directly on the transmission lid under the riders butt.
        A stock bike would be either Hand or Foot shift.
        A hand shift has the shift lever mounted to the gas tank.
        A foot shift had the shifter linkage just above the left footboard.