Intake to short

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intake to short

Pulled the manifold off of a 52 panhead with o ring conversion to replace the o rings.the manifold’s is 2 7/8 long and is about 1/8 to short.any else come across this problem and what kind of fix did you come up with fix or a longer manifold thanks Elmo

Not an expert like Cotton, Rubone, and others but that works out to 1/16th per side and with expansion and contraction due to heating up and cooling down and the rubbers filling the void with some flex? Would an interference fit be to tight?
    DrSprocket

Comment

Does it leak, Elmo?

....Cotten

PS: Cotton may well be an expert, but I am still a student.
      Last edited by T. Cotten; 03-17-2024, 01:56 PM.
      AMCA #776
      Dumpster Diver's Motto: Seek,... and Ye Shall Find!

Comment

Trying to bring a bike back to life that been sitting for 30 years thought this was a good place to start . The bike was always hard to start back in the day so they were probably bad back then have to check the o ring conversion to see if that leaks . Just thought the manifold looked short the S and S is 3 inches the other replacements are the same width as mine thanks will keep you posted. I may have put the cart before the horse

Comment

Botched O-ring conversions, Elmo,..

Probably trashed more Pan heads than even 'hard seats', so please test the inserts before other worries.

...Cotten
          AMCA #776

Comment

Originally posted by elmo View Post
            Trying to bring a bike back to life that been sitting for 30 years thought this was a good place to start . The bike was always hard to start back in the day so they were probably bad back then have to check the o ring conversion to see if that leaks . Just thought the manifold looked short the S and S is 3 inches the other replacements are the same width as mine thanks will keep you posted. I may have put the cart before the horse