1948/1949 Panhead

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1948/1949 Panhead

Just for conversation. I've picked up an old bobber project that I've posted a few things about. I found it in a co-worker's dads barn. Its been sitting in there since the late 1960's. I always felt it was a 1949 Panhead with a 1947 Knucklehead engine. I'm not an expert, I just figure since it had an early Hydraglide frontend it was a 1949. I started pulling it apart to check out everything and started noticing numbers cast and stamped on the frame, frontend and transmission. I have Palmers books and from what I can tell it is a 1948 Frame, October 1948 transmission and an early 1949 front end. Would any components such as wheels or primary cover have any indicators of years? Trying to figure out what kind of life this thing had. Would Harley have made any early 1949's with leftover 1948 parts? Like I said, no expert, just curious.
    Thanks,
    Eric

They are like buckets o' fried chicken, Eric!

All pieces and parts.

(It will of course be titled and registered by the motor VIN.)

October was well into the next production year.

....Cotten
    PS: How much '49 stainless trim did you find on it?
    Last edited by T. Cotten; 10-31-2019, 10:38 AM.
    AMCA #776
    Dumpster Diver's Motto: Seek,... and Ye Shall Find!

Comment

Like fender trim? There wasn't any left on it.

Comment