Quick Start 2000

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quick Start 2000

I was wondering if anyone has tried the Quick Start 2000 electronic ignition. It is advertised on page 21 of the latest AMCA magazine. Any opinions would be appreciated. Thank You.

Originally posted by snyder3244 View Post
    I was wondering if anyone has tried the Quick Start 2000 electronic ignition. It is advertised on page 21 of the latest AMCA magazine. Any opinions would be appreciated. Thank You.
    Snyder!

I am sure it is a very fine product, even though I have no experience with it.

But I am curious as to why you might think you need it?

.....Cotten
    Last edited by T. Cotten; 07-09-2012, 07:50 PM.
    AMCA #776
    Dumpster Diver's Motto: Seek,... and Ye Shall Find!

Comment

I have a 54 panhead and was thinking it would make it easier to start and it does away with the points.

Comment

Snyder!

There have been one-kick Pans with points around for generations.

Do you feel your timer is the issue?

....Cotten
        AMCA #776

Comment

That's possible. I have only had the bike for about a month and I'm still learning about it.

Comment

Snyder!

We assume you have the Service Manual, and have the ignition timing in order, so I must ask: Has it by any chance been converted to "solids" with aluminum valve pushrods?
            (They require to be set quite tightly...)

But by far the most common cause for difficult starting is a vacuum leak.

Does your machine still have the original "plumber's" nuts, or perhaps O-ring conversion nipples?

The tiniest leak is still an issue, so I encourage you to do a simple test,
            that only requires an aircompressor, with a regulator to shut it down to 12-15psi, some soapy water, and a #9 rubber stopper: http://virtualindian.org/11techleaktest.html

Good luck!

....Cotten
            AMCA #776

Comment

Snyder,