Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spark Plugs

HI Guys
    This may be a stupid question, but what are the consciences of option which spark plug that work best in the EL. Mine has been converted over to 12volt and I tried Harley Plugs but they seem to foul quickly.

Thanks again
    W

Originally posted by Will View Post
    HI Guys
    This may be a stupid question, but what are the consciences of option which spark plug that work best in the EL. Mine has been converted over to 12volt and I tried Harley Plugs but they seem to foul quickly.

Thanks again
    W
    You system voltage doesn’t play into it. If not for judging? I’ve been running Bosch platinum’s for twenty years in my 60 pan. I’ve nicknamed them foul proof.
    AMCA #3149
    http://www.thegoodoldmotorcyclepartscompany.com

Comment

If they are fouling with soot, you are probably running too rich. This could be caused by a bad float, mixture adjustment, or mismatch of parts in the carb. As you are riding down the road, soot will build up on the porcelain insulator, and the bike will begin to misfire, especially under a load.

If the plugs are oily wet, there may be a problem with the oil not returning from the cups in the heads.

Comment

the consciences of option
        Huh?
        Robbie Knight Amca #2736

Comment

Beware of modern productions of NGK A6 plugs.
          Older productions (probably still available from Dixie) were great.
          But suddenly they became resistors, and NGK denied it outright, even though the change was to accomodate newer Wisconsin motors.

Beware also,
          that most modern pump fuels have deposit inhibitors that prevent conventional plug "reading".
          Its either white or fouled. Sometimes both.

And face it,
          if a motor must run rich, it is because it cannot run any leaner.
          A simple bubbletest, as per http://virtualindian.org/11leaktest.html
          may shine light on serious concerns.

...Cotten