JD oil system

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JD oil system

What’s the proper procedure for drawing the cases and using the hand pump? Carburetor was dripping over and I went to drain the crankcase and refill. I’m new to this design. I’m used to recirculating systems

Originally posted by Bmarinac View Post
    What’s the proper procedure for drawing the cases and using the hand pump? Carburetor was dripping over and I went to drain the crankcase and refill. I’m new to this design. I’m used to recirculating systems
    Do you know how your upper end is set up? Oiling "procedure" will depend on what type of pistons and rings are fitted or not fitted. And if your cases have baffles or not. Differnt guys use differnt setups for different road work. What year is your JD? the following discussion is for the mechanical oilers fitted to later 1922 through 1927 models. 28-29 mechanical oilers are similar, but are "automatic" throttle controlled, so the adjustment procedure is different. Early model (before late1922) mechanical oiler adjustment, i know nothing about.

Original standard setup was constant loss with tapered bore, cast iron pistons, oil control ring, and greater piston/cyl.wall clearances, so the mechanical oiler needed to be adjusted so the right amount of oil was passing through the oiler, into the crankcase, up past the rings and out the exhaust. Too much oil, and cases overfill, overheating. Too little oil, lower end oil starvation and... If you have original setup, then you need to read the Rider's Handbook for the Handbook's straight forward explanation of how the constant loss oiling system works and is adjusted. With the original setup, the hand pump was used for continuous speeds above 45 mph, hilly roads, sidecar use and/or lots of in town driving.