Best Oil for a 1937 UL - no oil filter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Oil for a 1937 UL - no oil filter

I have a HD '37 UL. No oil filter. I'm not sure what the best oil is out there for it. I am assuming since this model was made without an oil filter that I should use non-detergent. I'm also guessing SAE 60 (mostly summer riding).

1. Any advice for the best oil?

2. Should I look for a oil filter that is close to this year? When did Harley start making them?

3. What about the transmission? Same oil?

(Forgive me is this is an old tired subject. I didn't find any threads related to preferred oil for flatheads without oil filters. On top of that I'm a newbie.)

oil for ul

hello---i would use 70 wt in the summer if it has a lot of miles on it. 60 in the winter. you can get a factory style oil filter that mounts on the right side from most aftermarket places. yes same in the transmission---stillman

Comment

Originally posted by flat-happy View Post
      hello---i would use 70 wt in the summer if it has a lot of miles on it. 60 in the winter. you can get a factory style oil filter that mounts on the right side from most aftermarket places. yes same in the transmission---stillman
      Note that the reproduction filters do not come with oil lines that will fit your 1937 oil tank with banjo fittings.
      Be sure to visit;
      http://www.vintageamericanmotorcycles.com/main.php
      Be sure to register at the site so you can see large images.
      Also be sure to visit http://www.caimag.com/forum/

Comment

Thanks, that is good to know.
        Any brand of non-detergent oil anyone would recommend for this old machine until I get a filter on it? I'm looking for what is best for this engine as opposed to a good buy.

Thanks in advance,

Wade

Comment

Where to find SAE 60 or 70 Non-detergent