broken fin #5 head

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• broken fin #5 head

I was stripping my frame down today and the frame tipped over against the motor. I ended up breaking off a corner of a fin on my rear head.

My OCD won't allow that to be left alone, so should I just buy a decent looking used replacement? I assume it isn't cheaper to have somebody weld it up? It isn't an outside fin, so even if I could find somebody it would take some work.

Thanks for your responses.
    Trevor

head.jpg
    Last edited by oldbusboy; 10-31-2020, 07:03 PM.
    1943 WLC
    Bowen Island, Canada

Looks like a difficult one . I have welded fins before, when there inside like that it seem impossible at the least difficult to achieve a solid weld . if you just tack it on it will not have the cooling efficiency it was intended for . I have built the weld up solid and then reshape and retexture. It takes time but can be done . Hope this helps , I am not an expert, just sharing my experiences .

Comment

Was there any colorful language that accompanied that event? I hate it when that happens!

Good luck

Comment

I know a guy that has a 54FL and he broke a fin on the head, on the left (show) side. He literally glued it back on with JB weld and said it was at least a 10 year old repair. I saw it, and it was a near invisible repair, but you could see it when it was pointed out. These are his claims and I've never tried it, so I'm just saying what some guy did.
        Eric Smith
        AMCA #886

Comment

Thanks guys. I ended up buying a used head without any missing fins. Agree it would be a very tough welding job, so for now we'll swap it out. Trevor
          1943 WLC
          Bowen Island, Canada

Comment

Just curious. Do you think the aluminum solder rods would work?

Comment