Spoke pattern confusion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spoke pattern confusion

Sorry if this has been asked before but I'm just getting into this and I can't seem to get a straight answer. I am working on a 1942 WLA and it will be in military trim. I am having problems finding a rear wheel. I have Palmer's books and that is where the confusion lies. In the original "How To Restore Your Harley-Davidson" on page 96 at the bottom is a picture of a rim from the tire side. It says in the caption that it is identified as "an 18" rim for 1935-1966 interchangeable wheels" The paragraph directly above that picture says this is the proper rim used on 45 Solo rear wheels. Notice that the spoke above the valve is on the right. Great.

Now one page over (page 97) two thirds of the way down the page in the first column it states, "looking at the rim from the inside, examine the location of the nipple holes above and below the valve stem holes. If the rim is an interchangeable rim, the nipple hole above the valve stem hole will be on the left." (It goes on to clarify that the above description is also from the tire side and that if you have a fully assembled wheel with a tire on it to reverse the locations.) This is in the direct conflict with the picture on the previous page.

So, I need an interchangeable rim for the rear of this 45 WLA but I can't seem to figure out which one I need. As I said, I'm sure this has been discussed before. I've searched on line but can't find those threads. Sorry if this is redundant. I'm also sure I'm overlooking something obvious and probably making a fool out of myself. Can anyone help me with this confusion?

For that matter, anyone have a correct 45 Solo rear rim/wheel?

Thanks.

Reddawg

You are merely confusing yourself. The wheel is exactly the same on all models. On a 45 since the drum is on the other side it is reversed from Big Twin. They are no different and direction of spokes has zero to do with usage.