34 VD Right hand shift Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 34 VD Right hand shift Questions

Hello everyone, been soaking up info around here for a while, thought I'd jump in now that i have a question I couldn't find an answer to. I Bought a 1934 VD that is right hand shift, supposedly the way it always has been. My question is to the left throttle. It rolls away from you to accelerate. Is that correct or did someone use the wrong spiral? Also just how rare are right shift VL's?

Thanks in advance.
    Erik

Hey Eric,I'm no expert,but that throttle sounds fishy.My Indian with the left throttle turns in to accelerate.I think that the right hand shift was rare.I've never seen one in all the years I've been obsessed with the damn things.I do have a right side tank that is set up for it though.

Comment

Yes Harley made some right hand shift VLs when they had to compete for Police contracts where Indian were the incumbent make and the specs were slanted that way. I've seen a few right hand shift tanks over the years. There is a dummy front filler to secure the shifter gate, and my pals at Harbor Vintage have seen a right hand shifter gate made by turning over a regular one, then rebending and restamping it. Don't know if this was 'factory'. I have a parts list here somewhere with the parts carring 1935 numbers. Note the 1935 short left twist spiral would be re-used on the 1942/3 WLC where the Canadians wanted left hand throttle. 1934 is of course the last year for the long spiral, so it is conceivable that Harley used the regular spirals for the left throttle that year only, meaning they operated backwards until left hand spirals were made in 1935. All speculation of course.

Comment

There is a guy on the CAIMAG forum with the opposite problem. He has a left handed throttle control on his 34VL and needs a normal one. You guys need to get together.
        Robbie Knight Amca #2736

Comment