Belts for Belt Motorcycles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Belts for Belt Motorcycles

I was asked in the thread started by slojo on getting his 12 HD twin ready for the Cannonball where I get belts for all my belt bikes. First... I am no expert on belts... But I have had several made by Slome Belting of Cleveland OH. Just Google them. Slome has been making belts of all kinds since 1938. They are great to work with and do not mind small orders from motorcycle enthusiasts. I believe the last belt I had made was around $200 bucks including big brother and UPS?

My first attempts were all leather belts which stretched about 2.5 inches on a 101.5 inch new belt length right away. That is past the rear wheel and pedal crank concentric adjustments. I later found an old article in a teens motorcycle magazine with a B&W photo from the HD factory that showed a large wall rack of belts being pre stretched at the Motor Company. Not having one of those contraptions around or knowing a stretch ratio per any given length... I punted and tried a man made belt material that would not stretch. Sorry... (Cannot remember the name of the material at present.) The issue here was it was too slick and would not create friction with the front engine pulley leather lagging. Punt again! I had Slome build me a laminated three layer belt with two outer layers of leather and a center core laminated in between that would not stretch so much. Bingo... It worked.

I can take side profile closeup pictures of all belts I have tried that failed and the final design that does work and post them if it helps anyone?