Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for a source for ToughMet?

Hi folks.

I need to install new exhaust valve guides on my Harley Davidson 20F. During a very helpful conversation with Stuart from JD Jugs he has recommended guides made from an alloy called ToughMet. He recommends this material because it has 3 properties that are good for this application. It tolerates high temperatures and low lubrication plus it is strong enough to be used with a relatively thin wall on the guides.

The problem is that at the moment I cant seem to locate a supplier for this material. Obviously I don’t want large industrial quantities of this stuff, just enough to make a couple of valve guides. If not raw material then does anyone know of any other parts or products made from this that could be turned into guides.

Thanks, John

I took a look in my 1954 edition of Woldman's Engineering Alloys, which lists alloys by trade name. I did not a listing for "ToughMet". It might help if you could tell us if this is an iron base alloy or copper base.

Comment

Sorry,

This is a Copper/Nickel/Tin alloy.

It was a long shot that someone in the USA might know of a US source who could sell me a small quantity of this material because my wife is in the USA next week and I could have had it delivered to her hotel. I am struggling in the UK to find a small quantity although I have spoken to a company here who have a similar material that they say they have superseded ToughMet with. I am currently evaluating the differences between the 2 before I decide if I am going to go with it.

I was only looking for this specific stuff because it had been recommended to me for this application.

John

Comment