Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Your thoughts on Lithium Batteries in vintage bikes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your thoughts on Lithium Batteries in vintage bikes?

I've been running a 6 volt BS06 Shorai Lithium battery, for about 3 years. Trouble free.

Recently, I was told a horror story of a '46 Chief that nearly caught fire, that was running a Lithium battery, on OEM 6 volt electrics.

That didn't sit well with me, so I contacted Shorai, directly. I was surprised by two things... 1, the speed at which they responded (less than 5 minutes) and 2, the fact that they told me to STOP putting miles on my bike, with the OEM generator and cutout relay (what some call a regulator), with the BS06 Lithium battery installed.

They told me that the Lithium battery is rated for a top input of 7.65 volts and that above that, the battery can become compromised and "melt down". I read this as "catch fire". I work in an industry that uses large capacity Lithium batteries and the D.O.T. regulations are numerous and ever changing, to transport these things, so I can see the need for caution.

I later consulted Gene Harper and he also cautioned me to stop putting miles on my bike. He indicated that the 3 brush generator output was hard on the batteries and that the "regulator" is not a regulator, per se. The OEM generator has a potential of putting out up to 9 volts. Way beyond the safe top end of the BS06 Shorai battery, also, adding that the battery cannot take the charging oscillation from low voltage input, to peak voltage input, found on longer rides.

I've since taken my bike off the road and am waiting for Gene's solid state regulator and will be modifying my 3 brush generator, to accept the regulator.