Voltage regulator advice need.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Voltage regulator advice need.

Hi, i'm converting my '51 Servi to 12v with a Cycle Electric 65a generator, a repo square coil, and small battery. Would like to use one of those "look-a-like" regulators in the
    original relay style, or should I go with the Cycle Electric bolt-on low output regulator, or maybe a bosch mechanical type? Advice on any of these would be much appreciated.
    (newbie) Thanks.

Jeff!

Anything but one of the ugly end-mount regulators!
    (It can interfere with the footclutch on solos, but I am unfamiliar with Servis)

CE makes standard generators that would look 'authentic', especially with a cover, and they also make conventional SS regulators that would hide beneath on a bracket, as would a Bosch.
    I have no experience with the 'look-a-likes', but heard nothing bad about them at all.

You would not need a low-voltage regulator unless your battery is housed within a hot oil tank. Solos do not, but then I'm totally clueless about Servis.

....Cotten
    PS: If you still have ¼" mounting screw holes through your case, you will need to install ¼"-24 Helicoil inserts in the generator. They will fit in the 5/16"-24 holes without any tapping.
    Last edited by T. Cotten; 04-20-2016, 08:32 AM.
    AMCA #776
    Dumpster Diver's Motto: Seek,... and Ye Shall Find!

Comment

The Bosch mechanical regulator works ok for this conversion. Do yourself a favor, and avoid the "12 v conversion battery 12N5.53B " as it will need water added about every week. Find an AGM battery.
      VPH-D

Comment

VPH-D!

The boiling issue is typical for OHV applications within a hot oil tank, and that is why the low-voltage regulators were developed.
        (Ask Carl at CE; I was the first to ask for one for early models.)

The only issue with 12N-5.5a-3B batteries is that they should be arbitrarily discarded every springtime anyway. They are cheap enough to do so. AGMs are not.