Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Howdy ya'll, Chris here. Ruth and I are new mamber from Homosassa, FL . . .

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Howdy ya'll, Chris here. Ruth and I are new mamber from Homosassa, FL . . .

I started riding legally on the streets in 1977, been riding almost continuously ever since. California, Missouri, Georgia and now Florida of course. Ruth rides, she learned about five years ago. We currently have five motorcycles. what prompted us to join was the acquisition of a fifties-ere "mutt panhead" that was put together in the late sixties. We know the history back to then, it's a 1950 driveline in a mostly 1958 "everything else" It's been sitting since 1977. I know that it runs and it is rideable but I also know that it needs to be gone through. I've worked on many different motorcycles over the years.I am currently rewiring with new OEM style harness. De-rusting some parts along the way. it had been sitting in a real old separate garage next to a house in a small town in Iowa for the last 10 years or so before we got it. The original owners son ended up with it, would ride it a few miles every year and then park it until the next year. The throw-out bearing balls retainer was shredded, I found that out when I went to replace the kicker arm (1950, one piece).

Our goal is to get it roadworthy and ride it, while keeping as many OEM parts on it as is possible (all OEM when we purchased). That's it.

I would like to gain knowledge about how to evaluate the powertrain's condition. I think it's maybe clapped out a bit.

We still have every part that are missing in the current pic.

Here's a couple pics of the bikes condition when we got it, the garage pic I took today.

April 2, 2017.jpg

Spuddley Bike Pic 2.jpg

At sellers house d He said that the speedo works..jpg

At sellers house b.jpg

At sellers house Aug 2012 a.jpg

Thank you
    Last edited by Spuddley; 04-02-2017, 01:44 PM.