X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Member from Iowa

New Member from Waterloo, IA

Hello,

My name is Brian Schmidt. I was born here in Waterloo and have lived here all my life. I graduated from Waterloo East High School this spring. The AMCA membership was actually a graduation gift from my Uncle, who is also a member. I am currently going to Hawkeye Community College in Waterloo for gen-eds. I will be going to UNI after two years at Hawkeye, probably for Metal Casting.

I currently own two motorcycles.

The first one is a 1966 Triumph T100SR from my Uncle. My dad and I had to get his Topper going as a trade. He bought the motorcycle in 1968 when he was 17.
    Sometime shortly thereafter he made it into a chopper with 6 over forks, struts to replace the shocks, a peanut tank, a flat seat, a lot of chrome, and a variety of other things. The motorcycle was brought home in boxes, as it had broken down in the early 1980’s and sat in pieces in his garage since then. The engine was in terrible shape, somebody had put a roller bearing in place of the ball bearing on the crank, allowing it to move laterally. It knocked the brass bearing out of place on the other side and sent shrapnel through the timing gears. Also, the gearbox had been reassembled without a thrust washer and one of the needle bearings had disintegrated. A lot of careful machine work later (mostly on my dad’s part) we had it in good condition.