Possible New Magazine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible New Magazine

Call me nuts, but I keep trying to figure out how to successfully publish a high quality magazine for classic motorcycles here in the US.

My first one was Old Bike Journal, which I launched in 1989, and sold to Auto Trader (Walnecks) a couple of years ago.

I have been running at least one classic in every issue of American Iron Magazine, which I have been publishing since 1991.

Then I published Indian Motorcycle Illustrated for a few years (still have many of the issues for sale in the original boxes).

Now I am considering launching another one aimed at classic American bikes and am curious what other AMC members feel belong in it.

I am not committing to it at this point, but am doing some homework and am asking for input.

Thanks.

Buzz Kanter

That raises an interesting question. How are sales of the AMCA club magazine doing on the news stand? On our local news stand the same issues seem to languish forever, I hope this is not an indication. Lets face the cold reality, we are a fringe group of nuts, and unfortunately only a very small percentage of our progeny take a serious enough interest to carry the torch.
    Maybe now that some of our motorcycles are being looked upon from other circles more as blue chip investments than evocative history, a new magazine "Antique Motorcycle Investor" would be a booming success! Am I becoming a curmudgeon ?
    I'd say go for it. The more positve publicity ALL facets of two wheeling get ,the better it will be for all of us but better not stick to just American made or it will fail. I'm certain you can do a better job than the Brits who seem to have found some sort of formula for commercial success in spite of the inevitable redundancies with a 25 year+ run ( Classic Bike etc.)