new member 1st post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new member 1st post

Hello every one i'm new to the amca only about 4 months now and i am hooked on the old bikes, i current only have the v-rod that a few of ya'll have seen at a few of the meets, and chapter rides.Easley.,Davenport.,Maggie Valley., bought it new last october 31 and now i have 14, 104 miles already and i ride it everyday, I am going to get me a antique but i am pateient enough not to jump on the first thing i see. I am leaning towards a servi-car flat head 45 i feel this would enable me to learn tank shift.. foot clutch.. without falling on my face.

Sounds good. Your hooked. Welcome aboard.

I wouldn't let a hand shift limit your decision. Practice on back windy rural "flat" roads or an industrial area on a Sunday afternoon. You'll pick it up fast.

Comment

I found the hand shift easy to get used to. When I started I practiced in a large unpaved picnic area and didn't dump it once. It really seems natural after a short time. 45's are great bikes. They're very durable and everything you could possibly need is available for them. Just make sure you don't drop a big bundle of cash on one that does need everything.

Comment

jb, I wouldnt even think of falling on your face! After yo spend some hard earned money on any Antique trust me you wont be doing to much falling! Maybe the clutch will get a workout! It seems hard at fist but as mentioned above just relax,take your time, use common sense and youll do just fine!Good Luck!

Comment

Thanks