New Unknown Milwaukee V-twin

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Unknown Milwaukee V-twin

Well it is unknown to me and I have been researching Milwaukee motors for over 20 years. Even Herb said he had never heard of one. It is a Mar-Tan or Mar Tan made in Milwaukee between 1922 and 19??. Principal player was A.E.
    Martin, Wisconsin Senator, businessman and all around good guy. I was lucky enough to find a fair amount of history
    about Martin and his motor. A.E. Martin first got into the foundry business in 1905. Same year as Harley-Daividson's first production motorcycle. He and his partners went through numerous name changes and ownership until in 1922 his new company was organized as Mar-Tan Motors, Inc. They built a varity of different sized motors, singles and twins, for a varity of different purposes. Pretty much the same thing Perry Mack did with his Mack Motor in 1913. In the teens Martin's company built cylinders for Hartley-Davidson.