linkert float

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• linkert float

are there any advantages of using brass float instead of new cork float ? thanks mark

There are no advantages unless the cork float won't stand up to moden gas and if you go with brass make sure you get an american made one the ones from India leak a large percentage of the time.

Comment

Brass floats

I do not know which brass floats are the good ones. I have had a lot of bad experiences and wasted hours of carb tuning on my bike because of brass floats. Many are too heavy and cannot be adjusted. Even when adjusted further down in the bowl, the bike will constantly run rich and foul plugs. I just purchased and installed one of Cotten's fuel resistant "Liberty" floats on my servi and it runs and starts better than it ever has. Cotten is frequently on this board and I believe he is listed on the net as Liberty Cycles.

Comment

Here's blurb & address: http://virtualindian.org/5deallib.htm

I just put one of his floats in. It's well made. I have not road tested it yet. I belive some people have had problems with high alcohol content in some gas, which causes the cork float to swell.

For an ear full - ask him about his PEEK manifold seal rings.

Comment

thanks for info and web site.just started motor after total rebuild have it idleling fine and accelerates with out hesitation.plugs look to be running rich and have some weepage around bowl gasket very slight. have float set at about 3/16.tried to use brass float when you screw arm on the the float is way high you would have to do some severe bending of arm and this just did not look right to me. the recess on the brass float for the screw is much higher.any other tunning tips would be apprciated.does any one use hylomar on bowl gasket or should it be put on dry ? thanks again mark

Comment

Brass floats don't

I think 1/4" is the spec for panhead Linkerts.