Valve seat replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Valve seat replacement

I have a set of heads that someone set the valves too deep in. I would like some info on replacing the seats. I am a machinist of 29 years. But I have never replaced a set of seats. Maybe one of you could give me some advice.
    Thanks
    Creep

Hey Creep,
    I pulled the heads on my pan about 5 years ago. I forget why but I found out the valves were pocketed big time. After checking around I brought my heads to a guy in Nyac NY who was referred by the local HD dealer Reggie Pinks in White Plains NY. It took about 3 weeks, he initally told me one and he welded in a nice set of hardened inserts. I think it and 4 ground valves and seats and springs and guide check cost about $300. The welds didn't look too pretty but who sees the combustion chamber anyways. It turned out to be a huge performance enhancement. 5 years so far without a hitch and I do not add anything to the gas anymore.
    I am very cautious about having anyone do work for me, school of hard knocks is why, most people do not seem to care much about doing a good job for money. So I pulled the valves to check everything out and found a fair amount of metal shavings in the head. Good thing I checked.
    Head hog has been around for a while and he advertises in the club mag. I probably would have went with him if he was around then. I just wonder how his heads hold up to unleaded gas.
    Two others worth checking out are Lake shore HD in Ill. and Short Block Charlies in AZ I know they have a good reputation but that is all I know. Let us know how you make out,
    As an aside the New Year is here and my old lady is working on renewing her seat.
    Doug

Comment

As usual I forgot something. The guy who did mine bored out the bronze inlay, heated up the head cooled off the seats and pressed em in. I believe he welded them up to make sure they stayed put.
      Doug

Comment