Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 80" Chief Spark Plugs

Hey guys,
    Just finishing up a rebuild on my '52 Chief and was curious as to what spark plugs other 80" Chief owners are using and any recommendations. I have been running 4093 Autolite's since the late 1980's, mainly because I had a box of them, and never had any problems, but thought I'd ask if there may be something better to use. I saw or heard somewhere that AC R42XLS were the best for the 80's as the longer reach puts the spark closer to the mix, however I'm a little skeptical, but intrested. Any recommendations anybody?
    Thanks much,
    Stan

I would have to recommend our Indian Script Plug - We run them in all of our restorations with great success:

Get that last point on your restorations using our latest addition for your Indian Motorcycle. We have reproduced the Indian "C" Script Spark Plug, complete with a collector Indian Script Box.
    The "C" is the most common heat range used on our Indian Motorcycles
    This is a 1/2" reach plug (Indian originally used a 3/8" reach). It is completely interchangeable with the 3/8 plugs on all heads.
    The plug is equivalant to a NGK B7HS or Champion J6.
    We designed this plug to be used! Not placed on a shelf and looked at. Although, you may want to order a set for your memorabilia collection!
    Sold Each

Sincerely,
    Gary Stark
    Starklite Cycle
    Last edited by starklite; 03-21-2012, 10:50 AM.

Comment

Howdy Stan,

The purists may wince but with modern rings and superior oil control there is no need to run a short reach J6 type plug - essentially enshrouding your spark from the combustion chamber.

In my hot rod 48 Chiefwith higher compression 80ci I run an NGK BP7ES, unmodified as these heads have full depth brass plug inserts. On the stock 74ci of the 46 Chief with short inserts I merely turn off the unneeded threads to prevent any carbon build up that might compromise their removal later.