Gas Fouling and Idle Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gas Fouling and Idle Problems

Hi everybody. I'm a newbie to the Forum. I'm having two different but possibly related problems with my "new" old bike.
    My plugs gas fouling and my idle speed.

69 FLH
    S&S Super E Shorty 70 Main 280 Intermediate (I'm at 6200 ft)
    Andrews J
    8.5:1
    V-Twin late model long reach heads (new) (long story)
    Autolite 66 plugs (a little hotter for the late heads?) @ 30
    New coil,plug wires (non-resistor), points (@ 20) and condenser
    Static timed only at 35 dgrees

If I put in new plugs it will start in 4 or 5 kicks and I can ride about 15 or 20 city miles before it starts missing. When I pull the plugs they're dry black and sooty, I tried a smaller jets but it coughs and chokes at higher rpms (just before the shift point) so I put the 70 back in (left the 280) and I've adjusted the accelerator pump from black smoke out the pipes to no pump at all with no change. I've tried 2 different carbs jetted and adjusted the same and it still has the same problems. Is it possible that the ignition system is too "weak" to fire the late model electronic ignition plugs properly?

And

after it's warmed up I can only get it to idle at about 12-1300 if I back out the screw an 1/8 of a turn more it slows and dies. Again the same thing with 2 different carbs. Is it possible the advance weight springs are too "weak" causing it to snap back to full retard too quickly?

Any ideas???

Thanks in advance
    Steve

P.S. While I know it may not be feasible I would love to see the Shovelhead section split into three sections,
    Generator, Nose cone points and nose cone electronic. It sure would make searching a lot easier as they are just different enough that what works on one may not be applicable to the others. Just my 2 cents!!!

Steve!

It could be all, some, or none of those things.