HVLP paint gun

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HVLP paint gun

From my last post on Orange Peel, I realized I may have done several things wrong that may have caused my orange problem problem. I received some good info from you folkes. I think some of my problem is my crappy Harbor Frieght gun. Although I did have a good paing job on the frame. It glossed off nice. It was enemal. this paint I have Orange Peel problems with is metallic paint. Before I repaint I need a better gun. Any suggestions for a good hvlp gun. Thanks Again, Stan

Stan, I use many guns, are you planing on doing a lot more painting? most likely it's not the gun you have, I have cheap guns too, and high dollar ones and I can almost get the same results from the cheap ones as I get from the high end ones, but I've been painting for over 30 years. You may just need to spend more time mixing paint and painting, the HVLP guns aren't as easy to paint with as the old guns where, and the paint tech. is not the same today. If you want a high end gun Bink's makes a good one.
    Mark Wang
    De Soto WI
    AMCA #2079

Comment

I also have used h.b. guns and used to have a couple of binks the binks do offer more precise adjustments but the cheap ones do a good job on what I do I tried a hvlp (a buddys) and it will take me more practice so I never bought one as I am used to the binks style. I also will not paint when the humidity is over 60 unless I have a dehumidifier. I still use 2 air driers (1 large mechanical and a dessacant type also) but the best thing I do is paint my shed wall every time I fill it with paint. I use a touch up gun for frames, fenders and tanks as it gets into them better. make sure you have the correct tips (nozzels) and check your preasure at the end of your hose where you hook up your gun. I never had orange peel but things do go wrong on me also once in a while

Comment