• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Knuckle head gaskets

What are thoughts on using copper head gaskets on 74” knuckle motor

Originally posted by 46CHF View Post
    What are thoughts on using copper head gaskets on 74” knuckle motor
    Just from experience, 46CHF,...

I would seriously avoid the "corrugated" ones.

(Actually, I would avoid copper altogether.)

....Cotten
    AMCA #776
    Dumpster Diver's Motto: Seek,... and Ye Shall Find!

Comment

I have been riding 61 and 74 knuckleheads for 45 years now. I still put about 10,000 miles a year on and in the past had 20,000 mile years. The only time I had a head gasket problem on a 61 was when I had 36 4 fin cylinders on my 40 motor and used 5 fin head bolts. I didn’t know at the time there was difference. The too long head bolts bottomed and tightened without completely tightening the stock type head gasket. I got about 500 miles from home on a break in run when one of the front head bolts broke and the head gasket blew. I was in Canada just north of Warroad Mn. I made it to Roesou Mn. and found a guy who worked at the Polaris snowmobile factory. It was Sunday but he called a machinist friend who came in and made me a couple of head bolts. I had a spare head gasket and it took all day but got the bike back on the road . I finished the ride in the next few days putting about 2000 miles on without further problems.
      74s had have been more head gasket problematic for me though. In the past I used stock type and blue Teflon type and probably have blown at least 6 over the years usually on long road trips. About 10 years ago I blew one on the way to the Knucklehead Company anniversary party in January. I always carry a spare so was able to replace it at a gas station and make it to the party. Someone there told me about using copper head gaskets so I started using them. I have been using them exclusively on both 74s and 61s since and have not had a problem in over 100,000 miles of real world use.