1936 VLD Carb support bracket

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1936 VLD Carb support bracket

My 36 VLD bit-sa project does not like the re-pop carb support bracket. The float bowl nut is fastened tight, yet the bottom is too low for the support bracket to fit. I believe the Linkert M41 is correct.

The float bowl measures 1.942" top to bottom. Do I have the wrong float bowl, and if so what is the correct distance top to bottom?
    Attached Files
    1936 VLD in process
    1969 Honda Z50 K1 perfect!
    1985 Yamaha RZ350 resto-mod
    2006 KTM 950 Adventure
    2019 KTM 300 XCW

I know that an M41 is correct for a 1936 RLD.
    Not sure about a VLD.
    Mark Masa
    www.linkcycles.com

Comment

I am far from a carby expert, but that body looks like it could have a bowl that doesn't have a threaded plug above the float needle.
      The flat machined surface on the bottom of the body and what looks like two dowel holes on the sides to locate the bowl.

I think I have one somewhere. If i can find it I will measure it.
      Cheers

Comment

You're pretty close. The original bowls are about 49 mm deep, but the early repros needed a couple of mm skimmed off to fit. The original top bowl gasket was thin paper, while the post-1936 ones are thicker. Also check the crush gasket at the bottom is thinned by being well tightened down.

Comment

Mine did not like the repo bracket so I made one, same problem too tall. Mine is a 36 VD M41 Cotton carb and intake.

Steve

Comment

I'm curious on the serial numbers.... so, looking at these photos made me wonder. Do all serial number run in sequence no matter what model it is? For example, could you have serial number 36VL1234 and then another bike be 36VLD1235 then 36VLH1236? OR were all models be run together? Just wondering...

Nice clean looking carb and engine NCRiding!!
            Jim

AMCA #6520

Comment

NCRiding!