Spark Plugz

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spark Plugz

Guys do you know what the orig brand of plug and part number came in my 73 XLCH ? Just Curious...thanx

Originally posted by brettxlch View Post
    Guys do you know what the orig brand of plug and part number came in my 73 XLCH ? Just Curious...thanx
    Originals were Harley-Davidson brand. Actually made by Champion. The main difference on H-D plugs is that there is no pre gap inside the porcelain. Back in the dasy I would use Champion J 12. I don't believe these are available today.
    Be sure to visit;
    http://www.vintageamericanmotorcycles.com/main.php
    Be sure to register at the site so you can see large images.
    Also be sure to visit http://www.caimag.com/forum/

Comment

Thanx Chris, thats very interesting, maybe one of the club members have some pix. Gee had no idea harley did this.....but im fairly new to the hobby..brett

Comment

H-D 4-5, i believe that is what they came with.

Comment

4-5 is the heat range (not the plug type) and is used for all models regardless of plug type.
          The iron Sportster used the Champion 14mm thread, letter code "H" plug with 7/16" reach (depth in the head).
          The Champion "J" code is 14mm × 3/8" reach, it fits the Sportster but it's too short and carbon will form on the unused exposed threads inside the head. It was used in panhead engines.
          I have some more comments on my site here: http://victorylibrary.com/tech/plug.htm
          Last edited by kitabel; 03-18-2019, 07:24 PM.
          The Linkert Book

Comment

The old Champion crossover was an H-10 for Sportster, the equivalent of an old H-D #4.
            Last edited by Rubone; 03-18-2019, 09:22 PM.
            Robbie Knight Amca #2736

Comment

H8C or H10C Champion in todays numbers

Comment