Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

They Say it was a 1910 Indian MC. Can Someone ID This?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• They Say it was a 1910 Indian MC. Can Someone ID This?

I was at an auction yesterday and this "field find" was up for sale. They said it was a 1910 Indian MC but it looks like an Indian bicycle to me except for the hub and chain drive on the left side. I know most motorcycles of this era had pedals as well but this just didn't look like it came as a motorcycle. Then again I am not an Indian expert so I thought I'd ask the question here. It did have control rods on the handlebars.

By the way it sold for $750, and everything, I mean everything that was not rotted away was solidly rusted together.

Can someone ID it with this one crappy pic?

Thanks,
    Chuck
    Attached Files

Indian phased in their "loop frame" motorcycles in 1909 while continuing to market their diamond frame motorcycles through 1909. Only "Loop frame" motorcycles were offered after 1909. The diamond frame cycles had the single cylinder engines mounted in the seat post. So, this "diamond" frame is definitely not a Indian motorcycle frame. While I am not an Indian bicycle affecianodo, this frame may be what is left of an early Indian bicycle, year unknown, or a bicycle of another manufacturer.

Good Luck! Les

Comment

It does have a clutch, and the frame is very similar to an Indian diamond frame. The gas tank looks like an Indian model K tank so I wonder if this was modified to look more modern, and have the convenience of a clutch. It just looks to stout to be a bicycle.
      Eric Smith
      AMCA #886

Comment

I suspect somebody got a good deal. I do not know what it is but I have paid more for worse. Jerry

Comment