Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• drum brake improvement

Hello out there,
    Still a rookie at this, here goes.. I think I'm in the right heading this time.
    I'm looking to get the most stopping power out of my Knuckle's drum brakes.
    I came across an aftermarket front backing plate on Ebay awhile back & didn't
    get it. It supposedly had a dual cam action to it & used the stock drum. The lever was considerably longer. Has anyone out there used this & what did you think? The one on Ebay is long gone & I haven't seen or heard of one since.
    Also, I've heard that there are brake shoes made of improved material of some kind. Any thoughts or leads appreciated.
    Thanks, Bob

The dual cam backing plate is from 45 Parts Depot in Holland:
    http://www.45partsdepot.com/45parts/...all.php?cid=85
    Good folks to deal with, but I have no experience with this particular product ... Perry

Comment

drum brake improvement

Thanks Perry for the incredibly quick reply.
      This is an interesting product. Hopefully
      someone has some experience with it.
      Thanks again, Bob

Comment

brake

I talked to a guy on one of the toy runs up here who had that brake mod. He said it works fantastic. Also you should give Gus Karnes a call at Utopian cycle he has some tricks to make those brakes work better with the stock parts.

Comment

drum brake improvement

Len,
          Thanks for the lead. I found Gus' web site, I'll contact him.
          I'd like to keep the stock set up, at least for awhile. If Gus
          has enough tricks to make me feel comfortable in todays traffic
          I'll keep the stock set up indefinitely. Thanks, Bob

Comment

Knuckle Brakes

Hi Bob,
            Properly set up I have found out that Knuckle brakes can stop very well. You should have no problem locking the back wheel, if you cannot something is wrong, possibly grease on your shoes.