Wet sumping

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wet sumping

Hello to all! I'm very new to AMCA and the forum. I'm sure somewhere in the forum 'wet sumping' is here, but just learning to navigate the forum. I recently purchase a freshly restored 69' TR6c. The gentleman, (I'm being nice) that I purchased the bike from I'm finding out kinda cut a few corners, aka cheap speedo, battery arrangement, Keihin carb, etc. He assured me the motor was built better than new. To get to my point, after draining the sump, I started the bike 4 days later and what I thought was an excessive amount of oil was pumping out the vent and out the tube exit on the rear fender. Could the oil pump gears be that bad in just a few days of sitting to let that much oil buy?...……..Any help appreciated! Thanks Kevin

Triumph pumps are plunger type, not gear driven. Replacement pumps are easily available and better than OEM. The check ball seats and plungers are likely worn and the pump wasn't replaced in the build.
    Robbie Knight Amca #2736

Comment

Thank you Robbie! Will look into this. I'm learning, (with help from nice people like yourself). Thanks again, Kevin

Comment

Hey Robbie, I installed a new pump via Bonneville Shop. Looks to be a well built pump and after speaking with them they confirmed that. I have another question, the oil returning into the tank and the crank case breather tube is a milky color brown color even with new oil installed. Also, it still seems to be sumping an excessive amount. In a week about 1/2 to 3/4 of a quart. Any ideas on this. This a fresh overhaul, which I believe is true but there are different qualities of overhauls. Thanks, Kevin

Comment