Transmission locked up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transmission locked up

The other day my son was riding my 75 FXE, I was behind him and all of a sudden the rear wheel locked up as he was downshifting from 3rd to second getting ready for a stop sign. He skidded about 70 feet. The bike hopped the last 15 feet. Scared the crap out of him and his girlfriend. I fiddled with the shifter and finally got the bike to roll again and we got her home and I tore the tranny out of the bike. When I took the shifter lid off I noticed 2nd gear on the counter shaft had two teeth missing and they were in the bottom of the box.

Then I noticed the lock ring that holds 3rd gear on the main shaft was out of its groove allowing 3rd gear to move toward the main drive gear.

It is slightly dished and shinny on one side. I am not sure what forced it out of its groove but am pretty sure it locked up cause it was in two gears at the same time. I'm not an expert but have been in several transmissions. So any ideas on what happened are sure welcome.
    The other question I have is the lock ring on the countershaft is referred to as a spring lock ring part n0. 35810-36 and is really like a spring going around the shaft more than 360 degrees. The replacement I got from V twin has the same part number but looks different. It has a gap in it and looks more like the one in the picture I posted of the 3rd gear lock ring. Can anyone tell me the story on that spring lock ring and why I cant seem to find one.
    Thanks,
    John Underwood
    AMCA#14400
    Central Illinois

Someone reused the lock ring[freaking no-no]-or they didn't get it in right[freaking no-no]-these are a bitch to remove and install
    I see this often by wanna be mechanics[MMI grads!]
    The countershaft spring lock that goes past 360deg was aftermarket-they look like the one shown
    Last edited by duffeycycles; 04-27-2015, 11:25 AM.

Comment