Judging question and greetings from new member

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Judging question and greetings from new member

Let me start out by introducing myself. I'm Neil and I'm new to AMCA. I've been a rider/enthusiast for more than 25 years.

A few weeks back I acquired my first "antique motorcycle, so here I am.

I am planning on attending my first meet this weekend at Jefferson. Excited.
    Now to the judging question.

Are hard bags considered a sub component? If a motorcycle has original bags but the bags are not original paint, will points be deducted?

Look forward to meeting the community this weekend.

Neil

If bags were a factory fitted item as part of original specification they must be correct. If bags were not stock and are an aftermarket period accessory they do not count.
    Robbie Knight Amca #2736

Comment

Thank you,
      I would assume hard side bags would probably be factory fitted on a 68 FLH.
      Sounds like maybe I'll just bring the bags along, but not mount them for judging. I have a lot to learn here I see.

Comment

Welcome to the club Neil!!! Learning is all part of the fun. Most of us here are still in learning mode. Guys like Robbie have probably forgotten more than know!!! I'm pretty sure your hard bags would have been stock but you'll no doubt get confirmation. Have fun at Jefferson!
        Cory Othen
        Membership#10953

Comment

If you are only wondering about the bags not being original paint, then I'd say you're in pretty good shape. My advise... if this is your first meet, just watch the judging to see how it goes... then next time around, you'll be better prepared for what you'll be faced with. Good Luck, and welcome to the AMCA

Comment