Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member, old rider, finishing a '37 UL at the moment

Good morning!
    My good friend Matt Olsen talked me into joining the AMCA. I have been riding for roughly 25 years and love all kinds of old bikes. Currently i am trying to finish a '37 UL that was blown up and left for dead. I got a whole bike, but only the motor and frame were worth keeping, but even the motor needed a lot of work as they stuck a rear piston and blew the cylinder completely off the motor!
    I sold all the late model parts off the bike and had my motor guru here in Long Beach, Smokey, go through the motor. I did a lot of work on the relieved barrels i found to even them out and hunted many parts for this old gal. I am not restoring the bike by any stretch, but am trying to put something together with an early feel that fits my budget. The best part about this build has been learning and getting educated on this early stuff and finding out all the unique things about 1937s.
    I have found '37 tanks, '37 oil tank, stepped hubs, a '37 speedo face, an XA springer or an old Buchanons job that's XA length, running 19" and 18" early rims, have only found a panhead fender for the rear until i luck out on the right fender, and so on. Hope to have it on the road soon!
    the frame and frontend both took many hours to fix. The seat tube was bashed in, brake stay cut off, extra tabs and stuff welded to the frame, the springer had hex stock for front legs and the left rear leg was bent, etc, etc.
    I also have a '48 Pan, a '67 Shovel project, and a '78 shovel.
    Thanks, i look forward to learning a lot from the AMCA.
    Grant
    1937 Ul done-sm.JPG
    37 ul build.JPG
    iphone- 2219.jpg
    love old bikes from stock to modified? www.bornfreeshow.com
    Mark you calendars for June 28 and 29, 2014 for Born-Free 6! At Oak Canyon Ranch, in Silverado, California.

Currently in the stable:
    1937 UL
    1938 FL
    1942 FL
    1951 EL