Tillotson carb issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tillotson carb issue

I have a 67 fl with the original Tilloston carb. I am also new to this bike and carb system. While riding 2 days ago, the bike started to die. It felt like low fuel so I switch the reserve on and the bike kept running. But I checked the tank and there was plenty of gas. The next day, after about 1 hour of riding, it happened again. This time it stopped running. When I got off the bike I noticed gas leaking out from where the air filter cover is. When I turned to gas valve off the gas stopped leaking out. After 30 minutes it stated up again only to die again 10 minutes later. Now of course I am 1 mile from home but it is all up hill. I removed the air filter cover and saw gas coming out from inside the carb. Again when I shut off the gas line it stopped leaking out. Any ideas?

Thanks,
    bob

I am also new to this carb, but did just rebuild one to install on my 69FL. There is no float bowl and the way I understand, the diaphragm, inlet lever and spring allow fuel in as needed. Maybe your spring or diaphragm is not working properly. Shop bulletin #547 states a new inlet lever was installed because of 'high speed leaning out caused by vibration and needle sticking caused by dirt in carburetor'. The new lever 'now has a forked end which engages a groove in the new inlet needle stem. This locks the lever to the needle providing diaphragm control of the needle movement in both directions'. From the little research I did I think the newer Tillotsons worked better than the older. The above change took place after engine #67FLH1448. Also carb updated for FL will be HD-2AC or HD-2C. Orig HD update kit # 27588-66 for upgrading HD-2A, HD-2AB, HD-2B. Good luck, let me know results so I can learn too. Bob AMCA#6738.
    Bob Rice #6738

Comment