38 sport scout

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 38 sport scout

I am new to the Indian world..bought a 38 sport scout project and was wondering if any body could tell me what years the engine parts cross over to and if any chief parts are the same. Project is about 85% there but missing a lot of small parts,

Also if any one knows where I can get solid copper head gaskets for a 1960 chang jiang...{R71 BMW} 750 motor .

Thanks Martin

meh1966@live.ca

Originally posted by meh1966@live.ca View Post
    I am new to the Indian world..bought a 38 sport scout project and was wondering if any body could tell me what years the engine parts cross over to and if any chief parts are the same. Project is about 85% there but missing a lot of small parts,

Also if any one knows where I can get solid copper head gaskets for a 1960 chang jiang...{R71 BMW} 750 motor .
    ------

38 and 39 cylinders changed from the 35-6-7 y-cylinders (there were t-manifold cylinders in 34-5-6) with exhaust ports receiving external pipes with nipple inside. In 1940 the cylinders were expanded for broader finning, as were the heads. The one-piece oil pump/distributor drive were new in 38. ... If anybody gigs you for not putting the t-lines into the valve covers tell 'em they're standing too close. Can't say I recommend mounting the coil under the left tank either. But I love those nickel-plated cylinders.
    If you have a straight down tube to the rear engine hanger you cannot use 40-later cylinders without notching the fins to fit around that tube. Otherwise, cyls and pumps, heads, primaries, were commonly swapped and up-graded from the earliest to ... yesterday!
    -------phil---

Thanks Martin

meh1966@live.ca
    silly webmaster doesn't like my message, not enough characters, see if this helps

Comment

Most of your Sport Scout parts are interchangable to a degree. Not too many Chief parts will work however. What parts are you talking; engine, or chassis? or both?
      RF.