Merkel Pump

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Merkel Pump

After some friendly ribbing from a machinist friend, I undertook making a Lunkenheimer hand pump for my 1911 Merkel. He ridiculed my cheap Tiawanese benchtop mill saying it wasn't even a good drill press, and that my South Bend lathe should be in a museum. I worked as a machinist years ago after getting out of college and learned many things from a tool and die maker I worked with. He heard me cursing the worn out mill I was using and informed me that the problem wasn't with the machine. He showed me how to get the most out of any machine tool and that precision work can be done on most any machine. The following pictures are for Walt.

The first picture is of a genuine Lunkenheimer

Last edited by exeric; 05-19-2011, 02:03 PM.
    Eric Smith
    AMCA #886

nice looking pump!
    rob ronky #10507
    www.diamondhorsevalley.com

Comment

Eric, You did good boy! Real good!
      AMCA #3149
      http://www.thegoodoldmotorcyclepartscompany.com

Comment

awsome stuff! eric those pics are very inspiring.

Comment

That's some beautiful work Eric! A tool and die maker for a mentor... man you can't put a value on that kind of education. Your bikes speak for his teaching abilities.
          Cory Othen
          Membership#10953

Comment

Great work Eric,
            There is many parts as yours still better made by a skilled machinist in manual lathes and mills than if made by 3D cad design and CNC machinery.

Sverre
            AMCA 3489
            http://AmericanMotorcyclesNorway.blogspot.com
            And then there is the idea that we are here on earth to get a certain amount of things done before we die.
            This is a great theory.
            If it is true, I am so far behind that I will never die...

AMCA-3489

Comment