Front fender judging issue - 1955 Panhead at Davenport

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Front fender judging issue - 1955 Panhead at Davenport

I am not an expert, but I can not figure out why the judges thought my front fender was from a newer (60s) bike. What do you think? Images linked below are same as it was presented at auction, just as it was at Davenport.

http://www.proxibid.com/asp/showImag...6/20918/11.jpg

http://www.proxibid.com/asp/showImag...20918/11-2.jpg

http://www.proxibid.com/asp/showImag...20918/11-1.jpg

Please feel free to share your thoughts. I acquired this bike about a year ago at auction and intend to bring the machine back to as near correct as I can over time. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Brian
    Last edited by got_groove; 09-08-2010, 10:55 AM.
    AMCA# 14373
    "I pity the poor people who don't ride motorcycles" -Malcolm Smith, champion motorcycle racer.

Brian,
    I have a Winner's Circle '55 FLH. Fender looks identical to yours. I would be glad to share with you any info you need in your quest. Judging can be a daunting task, albeit highly enjoyable. PM me if you need anything.
    Wayne #4329

Comment

Brian,
      What I see is that the fender mounting brackets are of the heavier later type. The early ones are not as stout and hence the seemed to break from vibration etc. No rolled edge and extra bends and wider material like later ones. They beefed them up on the shovels and possibly late pans. I am not an expert but this is something that I have noticed over the years of looking at an working on pans. Other than that the bike looks great. Have fun a ride the wheels off it.

Tom (Rollo) Hardy
      AMCA #12766

Comment

Yepper, good eyes Rollo
        Mine are flat stamped w/o rolled edges.
        Wayne #4329

Comment