Knuckle Rocker Seals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Knuckle Rocker Seals

I'm having some trouble with (I think) rocker box leaks on my '47 FL. I've always installed the rocker seals (the ones that the rocker arms pass through) with the beveled side facing out (toward the left side fo the bike). I've been installing these seals like this for many, many years and have never had a leak or any other problem. However, this one, because it's my own, is giving me trouble.

As the parts books don't show the factory's preference for installing these seals, I thought I would ask. Has anyone had a problem with these seals leaking when installed with the flat side toward the right side and the bevel facing the left ??

Thanks....
    Bill Pedalino
    Huntington, New York
    AMCA 6755

I have a box of genuine H-D seals. There is no beveled edge on them. Both sides are flat.
    Be sure to visit;
    http://www.vintageamericanmotorcycles.com/main.php
    Be sure to register at the site so you can see large images.
    Also be sure to visit http://www.caimag.com/forum/

Comment

Chris,

You're correct, the HD seals were square on both sides. The aftermarket seals have a bevel - even the better ones like James. I always assumed that the bevel was to make it easier to stretch them over the right-side arm of the rocker arm.

In any event, I'm thinking that it doesn't make a difference what side the bevel faces, as long as the inner and outer circumferences offer a seal between the rocker box and the rocker arm and the edges of the upper and lower cups/covers press into the side of the seals. I usually use No. 2 permatex on the outer edge and white lube on the rocker arm surface of the seal and I put a little No. 2 onto the edges of the cups as well.