Orange peel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Orange peel

The sun is finally out here in Souther Cal. I decided to paint my 68 Yamaha sheet metal. I already had the paint, which is Sherwin Williams acrylic urethane enemal 2nd demension with hardener. The problem is there is a noticable orange peel showing. What may have caused this? I have more paint to do it over, but don't wanty the same thing to happen. what may have caused this, and how can Ikeep this from happening again. The paint is 24 hrs old, how soon can I repaint. Thanks for any help. Stan

i am not a painter this is from Google
    Q: How can I get rid of orange peel paint defects?

A: Orange peel is a coating defect that occurs when the coating that emerges from the spray gun is not properly atomized. As a paint sprayer consultant, I usually give two predominant methods to eliminate orange peel:

Without changing the air atomizing pressure, DECREASE the flow of paint to the gun by turning the fluid control knob to the right, clockwise.

Without changing the fluid flow to the gun, INCREASE the air pressure to the gun.

With HVLP guns you are only allowed to increase the air pressure so that the pressure at the cap of the gun does not exceed 10 psig. There is a third method, namely to add some thinners (solvent) to the paint but as an environmental coating consultant, I never recommend this as it adds to air pollution.

I found a good post that might help
    http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/more...eel-42275.html
    Last edited by jmanjeff; 12-30-2008, 03:32 PM.
    Jeff Bowles
    Arkansas
    Membership # 14023
    1957 Sportster

Comment