1971 Kawasaki 500 Mach III

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1971 Kawasaki 500 Mach III

Hello to all, this is my H1A, my second H1A, the first I bought and sold over thirty years ago. I have been riding since 1969 and have had 51 different bikes. I now own five, a Honda Valkyrie Interstate, a Kawasaki ZRX1100, a Honda XR650R, a Honda CR500R, and my Kawasaki Mach III. I bought the H1 a couple of years ago and rebuilt the motor completely, repainted the tank and side panels, recovered the seat, bought period correct Spec II chambers and had them chromed, rechromed the forks and rear grab rail and generally fixed everything under the sun, sometimes several times to get it to suit me. The old girl runs great, just like I remember. 6000 rpm and the front wheel is up in the air and then "Hang on Momma we are going to town!"
    I had been to the Davenport meet many times and these last two years I brought the H1, it was quite a hit with the guys around my age. I joined your club this year and am looking forward to sharing some conversation around old bikes. Joe Byrd

Joe......that machine scared the livin hell out of me back then. My Buddy bought one at at a Penn State dealer new. Quick runner for sure ! I played with it too. I gave another friend of mine a ride on it. Being a five speed, I went through all the gears in a few seconds. Getting on it through town, I slowed to a stop, to find my friend no where ! I dumped him a few gears back ! I swung around and ran back down the street to look for him. He was lying on the ground with road rash everywhere ! Had that bike at 140 mph several times. LOL Paps

Comment