H-D Sidecar Check strap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H-D Sidecar Check strap

Hey guys I need some help. I've been using my Duo-Glide with sidehack for a few years now and this Bike tracks and handles well for it's era and I enjoy it alot. The Car does bounce abit upfront when hitting those bumps in the road. I got everything I need over time for the Check Strap underneath with proper ends and good spring. I've taken pictures and measured many other Sidehack machines with check straps on and have seen many variations on several connecting ways. That being said is there a reference of factual location diagram that I could use besides using variations put together that I have seen many of. First off I've seen the strap itself going under just the frame, some under both S-Bar and frame to some under just the S-Bar? Personally with the Juice Brake line beside the main frame I don't feel would be right. I've seen the front bracket mounted at the end of the front Car/Leaf spring support mount which I feel would be right, to some mounted behind it on the floor of the car. The rear mount inner side of the car I believe may be a measured mounting spot about 8" back from the front car/leaf spring mount. Also when the car is empty should there be any load on the spring at all since when the car is loaded it would lose some tension? Thanks to anyone who can offer factual info as I've seen too many different applications and ofcourse some without like mine is now....Maybe this is the old story "If it aint Broke don't fix it" Keep Riding them, Merlin in Pa.
    Last edited by Magic; 04-07-2008, 10:34 AM. Reason: left wording out

Side Car Parts