Knuckle Jug Date Codes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Knuckle Jug Date Codes

My VIN is EL401607 ... an early production 1940 EL. I have a couple of cylinders with date codes of 19 - 9, and 21 - 9. I assume these are 1939 codes, but don't know what the two digits before the dash represent. Are these month and day, or something else. I'm trying to determine if these are compatible with my engine production date.

A related question I'll ask here, rather than on a separate thread is when did production typically begin for a model year (recognizing that it may have changed over time, or even from year to year)? Further, what kind of lead time would there be between the manufacture of significant components (e.g., heads, jugs, transmissions, fly-wheels, etc.) and the motorcycle assembly. I am relatively new to old Harleys, and come from more of a Corvette restoration background where all of this info is readily available ... so I recognize that I may be asking questions without answers, or the answer may not make a difference with these bikes.

Thanks.
    Vic Ephrem
    AMCA #2590

The 19 and 21 are probably days of the month. In front of the this or around the corner on the flange should be a letter that represents the month. 1940 is the first year of the 5 fin cylinders so your cylinders would be right if they had 5 fins.

Jerry

Comment

You should notice a large letter casting. Often around the corner from the numbers. So lets say you letter is "H". Sometimes this letter is upside down. So the casting would read H 19 9
      H is the eight letter of the alphabet, making it the eighth month or August. The 19 is the day and 9 is the year, 9=39 in this case. I am sure you could tell the difference between a 1939 or 1949 jug.
      So the jugs would have been cast Aug/19/39. Model year change is usually in June so jugs cast in Aug of 39 would be for a 1940 model machine.