Aluminum rocker covers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aluminum rocker covers

I have a set of used aluminum rockers I am fixing up for my '65 FLH. I am getting the dents out and flattening them OK. One polished up fine. The other one looks milky on both the curved and the flat sides. The rest of it shined up fine. I went by the instructions I got in a video from Eastwood. These have worked fine on other pieces I have done. I completely did it three times, and the same result each time. I started with Tripoli on the proper buff, then white rouge, and Simi by hand. This doesn't make sense to me. I MEAN IT IS ALUMINUM, SO WHAT CAN BE DIFFERENT ABOUT PART OF ONE COVER? It is just as smooth as the other one. I think it had been chromed at one time, because of the copper that was impregnated in the bottom of the lip still. I am new to doing this myself, so maybe I am just ignorant about it. I will appreciate any feedback on this. Mike

You are probably running into some nickel that escaped the stripping process when the chrome was removed.

Comment